Coffee love

I never knew just what it was about this old coffee shop I love so much. I never knew what made me to walk over here every morning. Was it the smell of the fresh cut coffee? Were the cookies that had just come out of the oven? Were the soft sounds of the jazz music playing through the speakers? Or was it the cozy armchair by the window bathed by the sunshine?

I knew the real reason when I entered the shop yesterday morning and I didn’t see your smile. Every single morning for the past forty five mornings, you were there, behind the counter, getting my order, preparing my coffee and finally smiling at me when you were giving me my change. I knew the color of your eyes; every wrinkle that appeared around your eyes when you smiled. I knew you had a scar on the left side of your chin. But I never knew that your smile was the one that made me walk extra miles every morning to this old coffee shop.

I entered today the shop with fear in my heart. What would I do if I didn’t see your smile today? I could never work up the courage to ask you your name, where are you from, what was your favorite book, how did you make the delicious cookies. If I didn’t know you, I’d rather not know. If I couldn’t have you, I’d rather be alone.

I opened the door with dread in my heart. The familiar smell of the fresh cut coffee, the freshly baked cookies, the soft jazz music playing through the speakers and the cozy armchair by the window were there. And so was your smile, greeting me good morning. Until I didn’t see your smile for one day, I never knew just what it was about this old coffee shop I love so much.

AN: An old story that  I had posted almost a year ago in tumblr. Cannot find the link to it, but it was inspired by the panda30challenge 😀

Leave a Reply

